In the state of Arkansas, victims of medical malpractice are entitled to seek economic, or compensatory damages including:
- Related medical expenses
- Adaptive technology
- Home modifications
- Work interruptions/lost wages
These damages are based on actual financial harm and are not capped by The State. Noneconomic damages, also known as punitive damages, are capped at $250,000 or three-times the amount of compensatory damages, whichever is greater. These damages include physical pain and emotional duress. In Arkansas, punitive medical malpractice damages cannot exceed $1 million.
To learn what your case may be worth, please contact Polewski & Associates, P.C. or call 972-223-18106 today to schedule a free case evaluation with an experienced Arkansas medical malpractice attorney.
Statute of Limitations
You have two years from the date an injury is discovered to file a medical malpractice claim. Some forms of surgery malpractice allow for additional time if the error is not reasonably discovered within two years. There are a number of exceptions for victims who are minors as well.
While you have some time to file a claim, waiting can impact the damages you are awarded. The sooner you contact our Arkansas medical malpractice attorneys, the better our ability to help you get the full compensation you are due.
If you have been injured or a loved one has been killed through medical negligence, please contact our experienced Arkansas medical malpractice attorneys to schedule a free consultation today.